top of page
Search
  • Sp.A.M, Pug, Mystery Team

Who Are We? - The Sp.A.M, Pug, Mystery Team

Hello! We apologise for the week of radio silence. With the recent events in Iran it meant we needed a rethink on our route and on our car situation putting other things on hold. We still haven't fully worked everything out, but we're getting there!


Unfortunately, due to these events, and some other personal reasons, one of our charity organisers, Richard Belton, has decided to drop out of the team. However!! He will still continue to fulfill his role and possibly come and visit the squad for some adventure. Although we're sad he won't be with us the whole way, we support his decision and are very grateful that he will continue to help us on our way to Mongolia!


Now, on to today's post, where you get to find out some intimate details about all the members of the team! Why do we like cars? Why do we want to do this insane adventure? Who are we, really? And to get more personal, pictures of us from the start of the decade and the end!



Name: Jim Harris

Age: 30

Occupation: Senior Design Engineer


First Car: 1991 Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo in Aztec Red


Dream Car: Lexus LFA


How did you get into cars: I grew up playing Gran Turismo (and still play it) and watching Top Gear. I also blame Gran Turismo for my obsession with Japanese cars...


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: I adore roadtrips and the idea of being able to drive from my front door to the middle of another continent through countries I’m only just learning how to spell was too good an opportunity to pass up. This has been 12 years in the making for me but I can’t wait!


Weird Fact about yourself: I’m mildly colourblind and for about 25 years I thought the wrappers for Cadbury’s Dairy Milk bars were a lovely shade of blue.




Name: Katie Coates

Age: 27

Occupation: Environmental Consultant


First Car: VW Polo in blue


Dream Car: Audi R8


How did you get into cars: Through my Dad and I playing Formula 1 on the PS1


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally?: For the experience and opportunities for different cultures, in countries I would not otherwise have the chance to visit


Weird Fact: I completed a kayak marathon when I was 16




Name: Richard Ebsworth (Ebs)

Age: 30

Occupation: Houmous appreciation expert / Senior Transmission Systems Engineer


First Car: Ford Fiesta Mk4 1.25 (13 years of ownership and counting)


Dream Car: Anything that continues to work after I’ve been near it with a spanner


How did you get into cars: Mostly through the window, until I learned how to use a door handle


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: What’s the Mongol Rally?


Weird Fact about yourself: Regional Inter-school Busy-Lizzie growing champion




Name: David Eyre (Dave)

Age: 27

Occupation: Attributes Engineer


First Car: 1997 Saab 900S 2.3 Coupe (all for £220 in 2011)


Dream Car: Many more than just the one. But the fleet would definitely include a Koenigsegg Regera.


Current Car: Saab 9-3 Convertible


How did you get into cars: I always have been. I’m told when I was 4 I pointed out the window in a carpark and asked my parents ‘Why does that Renault have Vauxhall wheels on?’. I was right.


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: I’m a bit obsessed with roadtrips, and this seems like a pretty good adventure to go on... First roadtrip was a family holiday in 2007 round Germany (before I could drive), and upon getting my licence I immediately drove to the Isle of Man.


Weird Fact about yourself: I have freckles on only half of my face.



Name: Chris Rowell (Rowelly)

Age: 29 and 9/10ths

Occupation: Project Engineer


First Car: Peugeot 306


Dream Car: BMW 320d xDrive Touring


How did you get into cars: Something to do while the Apple shares appreciate


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: I really enjoyed the Long Way Round shows when I was younger. Having done real-life Hogwarts (uni) and real-life Top Gear (random banger rallies), I thought I’d try doing that in real life too.


Weird Fact about yourself: I was 2019's #2 purchaser of Shreddies in the Leamington Sainsburys




Name: Arron Maytum

Age: 27

Occupation: Gasoline systems development engineer


First Car: 1998 Audi A4 1.9tdi in battleship Grey


Dream Car: Koenneggsegg Agera


How did you get into cars: Always fascinated by driving when I was young. I really got the taste for it when I was 4 or 5, when my dad let me drive around the car park on his knees. I had to wait a long time, until I was 17, before I was allowed to do the pedals as well.


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: Well it's the ultimate roadtrip. It combines driving, adventure and general epicness all in one nice 10,000 mile jolly.


Weird Fact about yourself: Unnervingly (apparently) flexible



Name: Rich Belton

Age: 26

Occupation: Controls Engineer


First Car: Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI in Blue Graphite


Dream Car: The Batmobile


How did you get into cars: My teenage years were spent playing either Need for Speed: Underground 2, or World of Warcraft. I was told that liking cars was more socially acceptable than being a level 90 Mage, so I thought I'd stick with that one.


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: There is this really great Chinese near me that does Mongolian lamb. It's very tasty.


Weird Fact about yourself: I can solve a Rubik's Cube without even removing the stickers.



Name: Kristiana Hamilton

Age: 22 (almost 23)

Occupation: Graduate Automotive Engineer (currently involved in sales data analytics, kind of)


First Car: Maroon Red 2004 Skoda Fabia which pretends it’s a VRS


Dream Car: Audi R8


How did you get into cars: I was obsessed with Top Gear growing up and my dream was to be the first female presenter (I even applied when it all went to shit with the BBC). One reason was because cars and the other was I fancied the pants off Richard Hammond.


Why do you want to do the Mongol Rally: I have never been on a road trip before so why not throw yourself in at the deep end, right?

Weird Fact about yourself: I currently don’t have a license and therefore cannot drive. I was diagnosed with Narcolepsy which is a neurological condition that affects sleep meaning it was revoked. However! I am now undertaking the long, arduous process of getting it back.


So that's everything about us!

That’s all for now folks! See you in the next post...


The Sp.A.M, Pug, Mystery Team


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page